YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

Imparting Knowledge To The Youth Teach-in 2013


On Wednesday I volunteered my talent and time to the lively and spirited students of Memorial Middle School in the heart of Orlando, Florida for #Teach-In 2013. It is always fun to  spend time with young people who are bright-eyed, eager,  and at that wonderful age of discovery. For the last 10 years I have participated in Teach-In and I learn something new each time I step on a campus.

I was honored to stand in the Memorial Middle gym and greet the 6th,7th and 8th graders for the Career Fair. The students were fun and funny. “What do you do?” ,”How much money do you make?”, “Did you go to college? “,”Can I have some of your candy?” If I answered these questions once , I answered them a few hundred times.

While imparting knowledge to the youth, I tell them that it is important to get an education and that learning is earning! I stress that they can be whatever they see themselves being because it is possible! Many of the young men have dreams of playing professional sports and the young ladies wanted to be nurses and fashion designers. We talked about studying the career to see if it was really for them. Other students wanted to go into law enforcement, the military, become lawyers or doctors. I took the opportunity to talk about STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) all critical components for many career paths and students need to understand that early.

The young people are our future and our legacy, I want to make sure I am doing my part to put my footprints of impressions on them every opportunity I get!

NaBloPoMo Prompts

“You Say 2013, I Say 20NeXt!
Make the Moments Matter”
Yolanda Clay Triplett “YoTrip”
Words and Thoughts Artist~
Join us for The 100 Day SMART GOAL CHALLENGE2 http://facebook.com/events/444796945573132/
“Words the joyful noise of my mouth, sweet sounds to my ears.
The results of a love affair between pen and paper, words”
Copyright © 2013 YoTrip-Words and Thoughts
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

WBTW.com

Myrtle Beach, Florence SC News, Weather, Sports

R. Eric Thomas

dynamic social impact storytelling

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

ericapooler The Cards of Life

A fine WordPress.com site

Perks of Mo;

A period tells you that is that. With a semicolon you get a pleasant little feeling of expectancy ; there is more to come; read on; it will get clearer.

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

Write the Dream, Work the Dream

Write the Vision. Make it Plain

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

