YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

It’s All In A Name


I was excited to read the BlogHer NaBloPoMo Prompt from yesterday: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it?

I saw this as a great opportunity to tell the world about my connection to my namesake, the late Yolanda Denise King. If you are not familiar with the name Yolanda Denise King, she is the first-born daughter of Civil Rights icon, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr and his wife Coretta Scott King. An actress, activist, and ambassador for health disparities in the black community, Yolanda Denise King walked in her own way to uphold the legacy of her father. I was so proud of Yolanda Denise King, because it was a major thing for me to share her name!

As I prepared to write this post, I shared with my Mom that I was glad they named me after Yolanda Denise King. Mom chuckled and replied, “You were not named after Yolanda King. Your name was supposed to be Casey, because your Daddy liked that name.” Casey Clay was almost my name until my Mom took to studying the baby names book and they decided on Yolanda Denise Clay. All this time I feed into my own dream about the origin of my name. Now I realize that, It’s All In A Name.

I did a Google search on my name and  one of the entries from the site SheKnows.com that gave me a detail on my name, Yolanda. I read it to my Mom and she was like, “I could not have named you better. It is dead on and so you!”

Check it out! Is it speaking of the Yolanda Denise Clay Triplett that you know?

Yolanda

The name Yolanda is a baby girl name.

Spanish Meaning: 
The name Yolanda is a Spanish baby name. In Spanish the meaning of the name Yolanda is: Violet.

American Meaning: 
The name Yolanda is an American baby name. In American the meaning of the name Yolanda is: Violet.

Greek Meaning: 
The name Yolanda is a Greek baby name. In Greek the meaning of the name Yolanda is: Violet flower.

French Meaning: 
The name Yolanda is a French baby name. In French the meaning of the name Yolanda is: Violet flower; strong.

SoulUrge Number: 8People with this name have a deep inner desire to lead, organize, supervise, and to achieve status, power and wealth.Expression Number: 9People with this name tend to be passionate, compassionate, intuitive, romantic, and to have magnetic personalities. They are usually humanitarian, broad-minded and generous, and tend to follow professions where they can serve humanity. Because they are so affectionate and giving, they may be imposed on. They are romantic and easily fall in love, but may be easily hurt and are sometimes quick-tempered. http://www.sheknows.com/baby-names/name/yolanda

Screen Shot 2013-11-01 at 9.53.48 AM

~~YoTrip

“You Say 2013, I Say 20NeXt!
Make the Moments Matter”
Yolanda Clay Triplett
“YoTrip”
~Words and Thoughts Artist~
Join us for The 100 Day SMART GOAL CHALLENGE http://www.facebook.com/events/444796945573132/
Find me on Facebook: facebook.com/yolanda.c.triplett
or visit my page http://www.facebook.com/YoTrip
“Words the joyful noise of my
mouth, sweet sounds to my ears.The
results of a love affair between
pen and paper, words”
 
Copyright © 2013 YoTrip-Words and Thoughts 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

WBTW.com

Myrtle Beach, Florence SC News, Weather, Sports

R. Eric Thomas

dynamic social impact storytelling

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

ericapooler The Cards of Life

A fine WordPress.com site

Perks of Mo;

A period tells you that is that. With a semicolon you get a pleasant little feeling of expectancy ; there is more to come; read on; it will get clearer.

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

Write the Dream, Work the Dream

Write the Vision. Make it Plain

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

