YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

HAIRversations with YoTrip


YoTrip ThinkingYes It Is Really Me

YoCurlyTripCurlyYo!

Last Friday, I decided to take my crown and glory in another direction. I am now calling myself CurlyYo! I am no longer rockin the long/short hairdo, I am now looking curly new!  A change in my style has caused me to have some HAIRversations in the most unlikely places and spaces.  Yes I said, HAIRversations, it is the talk that women of color (black and sometimes brown) usually find themselves engrossed in after the transition  in their hair style.

The  HAIRversations with YoTrip have been with of all people the white men in my world. Yes they have sized up, walking around me like a merry-go-round. A few of them  walked on by, because they did not recognize me.  Then two of them were bold and bad enough to TOUCH it because they must be from Missouri (the show me state). As soon as the one guy pulled his hand away he quickly offered “I already know, you ain’t suppose to touch a black woman’s hair!”  I was laughing and responded, “How did you know?” He said, I watched Chris Rock  in that movie  

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/53/Good_hair_poster.jpg

I smiled and then they offered insight on my Curly locks. “Do you slap one of those doo-rags on your head at night and sleep with your head hanging out the bed?” I laughed and said, “No, I sleep however I feel, no special positions for me! You touched it, didn’t you see how soft it feels?”  I know they were shocked with my candid HAIRversations with them, but if you don’t share how can you expect people to be educated. One of the guys said, “Yo, I really like it and I think it looks good on you! That is more hair than I have had in all my life. ” Smiling at these guys, I told them that, “I am glad to have  had this talk with you so, now you know more about a sistas hair.”

Have you ever had to have the HAIRversations? How did it go for you? Was it a teachable moment for all involved? HAIRversations will always take place as long as transitions happen in our HAIR world! shouts out to the best stylist on the planet, Suzette A. Fullerton of  A True You Salon in Ocoee, Florida.

NaBloPoMo November

“You Say 2013, I Say 20NeXt!
Make the Moments Matter”
Yolanda Clay Triplett
“YoTrip”
~Words and Thoughts Artist~
Join us for The 100 Day SMART GOAL CHALLENGE http://www.facebook.com/events/444796945573132/

Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/@yotrip729

Find me on Facebook: facebook.com/yolanda.c.triplett
or visit my page http://www.facebook.com/YoTrip
“Words the joyful noise of my
mouth, sweet sounds to my ears.The
results of a love affair between
pen and paper, words”
Copyright © 2013 YoTrip-Words and Thoughts  

Related articles

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

R. Eric Thomas

dynamic social impact storytelling

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

ericapooler The Cards of Life

A fine WordPress.com site

Perks of Mo;

A period tells you that is that. With a semicolon you get a pleasant little feeling of expectancy ; there is more to come; read on; it will get clearer.

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

Write the Dream, Work the Dream

Write the Vision. Make it Plain

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography

Nikki Skies

I am a lover of perseverance. I am folklore. I am consistency and contradiction.

