YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

Archive for the day “August 10, 2012”

Thursday Thinking by YoTrip for August 9, 2012-We Remember Whitney Houston (Vol.8, Iss.2)


We Remember Whitney Houston

In a town called Newark, in the state of New Jersey almost a half a century ago today, Whitney Elizabeth Houston was born. The international musical icon, Whitney Houston tragically died last February and the world was left with a void. Today as we say Happy birthday, I decided to yield my blog space to memories of  Whitney Houston.

I asked my family how they remembered Whitney and immediately my mother, Marian A. Clay said her favorite song was “How Will I Know” and then the singer, Greta,  shouted out “The Greatest Love of All” and then she changed to “Where Do Broken Hearts Go” as she broke out in song making my heart smile to hear her sing with so much feeling. I then scanned my musical memory for a favorite (there are so many) and for some reason the first song that came to my mind was “I Have Nothing” so I thought what made that come to mind first.

My Mom’s favorite, “How Will I Know” was noteworthy as the third single from the “Whitney” album from 1985. “How Will I Know“, peaked at No. 1 and introduced Houston to the MTV audience thanks to its video. Houston’s subsequent singles from this, and future albums, would make her the first African-American female artist to receive consistent heavy rotation on MTV. http://bit.ly/S5ZbPu

Greta’s first Whitney Houston favorite was record-breaking “Greatest Love Of All”  from March 1986. The song received critical acclaim and became a big hit, topping the charts in Australia, Canada and the US, while reaching the top 20 in most countries, including Italy, Sweden and UK. It remains her third biggest US hit, after “I Will Always Love You” and “I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)“.http://bit.ly/S60ayW . This Whitney song, is special and reminds me of the importance of children in our present and our future.

Greta’s second pick of  “Where Do Broken Hearts Go” is the fourth single from Whitney Houston‘s second album, Whitney. The ballad was released in February 1988. The song was written by Frank Wildhorn and Chuck Jackson and produced by Narada Michael Walden. Wildhorn approached Jackson about the opportunity to write for Whitney Houston. He gave him the title, and Wildhorn completed the music and lyrics for the song.

Initially, Houston did not want to record the song, feeling there was no special message to convey. However, Arista Records CEO Clive Davis believed the song would go to number one if she recorded it, so she agreed. It indeed became a number one, Houston’s seventh consecutive one in the United States.http://bit.ly/S61H8k . The song title asks the all important question of direction for those lost after losing love.

My favorite pick of a Whitney Houston song is “I Have Nothing”  and it like so many made history. After the back-to-back successes of Houston’s “I Will Always Love You” and “I’m Every Woman“, “I Have Nothing” became yet another hit, peaking at number four on the Billboard Hot 100 and being certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America. The song also became a hit on the Billboard Hot R&B Singleschart, with a number four peak, and a number-one peak on the Billboard Adult Contemporary chart. Houston established another historic milestone in Billboardchart history with the two previous singles off the soundtrack and this song, becoming the first artist to have three songs inside the top 11 of the Hot 100 chart in the same week since the chart began using Broadcast Data System and SoundScan data in 1991.http://bit.ly/S62VAz

The song capsule for Whitney Houston is so vast and offers music that came and left its footprints of an impression that are lasting and classic. “The Voice” as Whitney Houston has been called gave the world so much in the songs and performances she provided over  the years. As I sit here and write about a few of her songs, I am both sad and happy. I am sad that she is no longer here with us, but so happy that she was born 49 years ago, and gave us music that will last a lifetime and beyond.

Happy birthday Whitney Houston, may your soul be at peaceful rest. Listen to the following link to hear the pure talent of Whitney Elizabeth Houston  http://bit.ly/S65KRT

Whitney Houston   -   Concert in Central Park ...

Whitney Houston – Concert in Central Park / Good Morning America 2009 (Photo credit: asterix611)

 

Post Navigation

The Positive Path blog

Nurturing Growth, Inspiring Change"

Love, Life, Happiness & More

Let’s chat! marriage, love, daily motivation, uplifting, self love & more

Jennifer Pentland

An Art Journal

Life in Japan and Beyond

stories and insights from Japan

Dirty Sci-Fi Buddha

Musings and books from a grunty overthinker

Inside the Red Head's Head

Watch Robert's Cat Conquer the World

LenoreDallas

Retirement Looks Good on Me!

The Guy

Timing Beats Speed

Ken's Life

My life and mind