YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

Thursday Thinking by YoTrip for March 29, 2012- A Jewel of a Woman, A Gift to Teaching (Vol.3, Iss.4)


 

A Jewel of a Woman, A Gift to Teaching

There are people who come into our lives and they make an impressions on our minds, hearts, and spirits. In the fall of 1982, my world was made better when I met “A Jewel of a Woman, A Gift to Teaching”, in the person of Mrs. Mildred H. Donaldson. Mrs. Donaldson was my home room teacher as I entered the wonderful new world of high school in my 9th grade year. As a freshman at historic Lucy Craft Laney High School,  in Augusta, Georgia I began the journey to becoming the woman I am today, and Mrs. Donaldson was a major influence in my life.  I was a bright-eyed teenager who was curious, clever, and concerned, Mrs.Donaldson had a way of keeping me focused on the gateway to living…education.

Mrs. Donaldson had a smile that was bright and at times appeared to beam lights that radiated to all who encountered her space. As our class prepared to take on  daily life and living, we could count on Mrs. Donaldson to give us words of encouragement to take us throughout our day. A Jewel, because she saw the best in her students, a Gift to Teaching because she stayed present in our lives that was who Mrs. Donaldson was each and everyday.

As students Mrs. Donaldson watched us grow and developed from freshmen and mid way through our Junior year, she went home to be with the Lord. We were sad to hear of her death but could smile knowing we were made better for the time she was in our lives. The Class of 1985, we dedicated our graduation to the memory of Mrs. Mildred H. Donaldson.

Today as I remember Mrs. Donaldson, I she her smiling down on the world proud of who were have become as adults and joyous to know she was a beautiful blessing to the world. Rest peacefully, sweet jewel and gift, one of my favorite teachers, Mrs. Donaldson.

Celebrate our beauty and brilliance: National Women’s History Month Project 2012
Do you want to be inspired and learn how to live triumphantly? Listen to the Dr. Loretta Faith Harris Radio Show on Wednesday’s from 6:30 pm-7:00 pmEST, join us http://www.blogtalkradio.com/lorettafaithharriss

Write your Story. Join the Orlando Renaissance Writers Guild. http://www.orwriters.org/ Purchase a copy of the collaborative book an “Anthology
“FOCUS FORWARD in 2012”
Turning Back Is  NOT An Option!
Yolanda Clay Triplett
“YoTrip”
~Words and Thoughts Artist~

“Words the joyful noise of my
mouth, sweet sounds to my ears.The
results of a love affair between
pen and paper, words”
Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Thursday Thinking by YoTrip for March 29, 2012- A Jewel of a Woman, A Gift to Teaching (Vol.3, Iss.4)

  1. Awesome post over again! Thank you=)

  2. Pingback: Thursday Thinking by YoTrip for April 26, 2012- POET’S NEVER DIE (Vol.4, Iss.4) « YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

  3. Jacqueline on said:

    Sometimes we are led to places and don’t know why! Today my curiosity brought me to a place that speaks on a person that has a lot to do with my very existence. Imagine that! I stumbled upon a beautiful expression on “a jewel of awoman…” that happens to be my mother! For me, this lady meant more to me than most can imagine but today I was able to read an account from someone that truly appreciated the love, support, encouragement from a woman who was truly a jewel! My heart is full to know that you remember the best of my mother, Mildred H. Donaldson! God bless you!

    Jacqueline (Daughter of MHD)

    • Jacqueline thanks for your kind words have blessed me. This weekend our class is gathering for the beginning of our 30th Reunion and homecoming. The Class of 1985 will meet at Antioch on Sunday. I have been asked by the class to honor your mother and my beloved homeroom teacher, Mrs. Donaldson. I was thinking what I should say, my post and your response is perfect.
      I live in Orlando, Florida and have remained a life-long learner. The footprints of your mother left a lasting impression. God is so good and His timing is perfect today and always!

      • Jacqueline on said:

        It is so wonderful that you will be worshiping at Antioch. This church will always hold a special place in my heart. You are definitely worshiping with family. Their love for my mother and quite frankly my family will forever be etched in my heart. Please give Antioch my love and well wishes along with the entire Lucy C. Laney Class of ’85. I know my mother is smiling ! God bless!

        P.S. I live in Maryland and work in Philadelphia PA. I would love to keep in touch! Jydawg@me.com

Leave a Reply

WBTW.com

Myrtle Beach, Florence SC News, Weather, Sports

R. Eric Thomas

playwright. humorist. person on the internet.

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

ericapooler The Cards of Life

A fine WordPress.com site

Perks of Mo;

A period tells you that is that. With a semicolon you get a pleasant little feeling of expectancy ; there is more to come; read on; it will get clearer.

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

Write the Dream, Work the Dream

Write the Vision. Make it Plain

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

