YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

Thursday Thinking by YoTrip for July 28, 2011-Happy OCG Anniversary (Vol.7, Iss.3)


Construction works at a prefabricated house

Image via Wikipedia

Happy OC Anniversary

July 28, 1998 found me embarking on a new journey to add to my colorful and varied resume, as I spent the day in orientation in a room full of newbies. On this day thirteen years ago, I became an employee of Orange County Government (OCG) within the Growth Management and Environmental Services Division and the Building Department. I know that was a great deal to write and even more of a mouthful to say. I was so glad when the department became Growth Management and we became Building Division and then The Division of Building Safety.

I was hired as a Permit Analyst with the Building Department. My job back then was to assist people who visited our offices for permitting services. I started  out with four other people who were also Permit Analyst. I also started out with a young lady who worked in the communications Department and is still there today.

Working as a Permit Analyst gave me the foundation and training to understand the very basics of the Permitting services business. I worked as a Permit Analyst for fifteen months, as I had a desire to learn and do more within the department. I was promoted to Project Administrator, and was given the opportunity to expand my wings and grow in the business of helping people for the next two years. My next move was to become the Building Coordinator and for the next seven years I was responsible for directing traffic with Permit Analysts, Interns, and temporary workers. This position helped me become a better follower, leader, listener, coach and trainer.

For the last three and a half years, I have been a Program Development Supervisor for the Division of Building Safety (I know the name changed again!). My current position allows me to continue to work with assisting people who need permitting services. Additionally, I can use my advanced degree in Organizational Management to help advance our work in helping our community grow and prosper. I am so glad to watch the landscape of Orange County change before my eyes with building and construction projects.

I say thanks to all who I have worked with and for over the years.I have learned and lived so much in my endeavor to help people realize their dreams. I am happy to say that after 13 years, 3 major hurricanes, record-breaking highs and lows in the building business, I am looking forward with anticipation and expectancy for what the coming years will bring. Happy OCG Anniversary, time sure does fly!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

WBTW.com

Myrtle Beach, Florence SC News, Weather, Sports

R. Eric Thomas

dynamic social impact storytelling

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

ericapooler The Cards of Life

A fine WordPress.com site

Perks of Mo;

A period tells you that is that. With a semicolon you get a pleasant little feeling of expectancy ; there is more to come; read on; it will get clearer.

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

Write the Dream, Work the Dream

Write the Vision. Make it Plain

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

