YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

Thursday Thinking by YoTrip for June 10,2010-“Thank You For Being A Friend” (Vol.1, Iss.1)


Thank You For Being A Friend

Thank you for being a friend
Traveled down the road and back again
your heart is true you’re a pal and a confidant

I’m not ashamed to say
I hope it always will stay this way
My hat is off, won’t you stand up and take a bow

And if you threw a party
Invited everyone you knew
You would see, the biggest gift would be from me
and the card attached would say,
Thank you for being a friend

Thank you for being a friend
Thank you for being a friend
Thank you for being a friend

If it’s a car you lack
I’d surely buy you a cadillac
Whatever you need, anytime of the day or night

I’m not ashamed to say
I hope it always will stay this way
My hat is off, won’t you stand up and take a bow

And when we both get older
With walking canes and hair of gray
Have no fear, even though it’s hard to hear
I will stand real close and say,
Thank you for being a friend

(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend
(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend
(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend
(I want to thank you)
Let me tell you bout a friend
(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend
(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend
(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend

And when we die and float away
Into the night, the Milky Way
You’ll hear me call, as we ascend
I’ll see you there, then once again
Thank you for being a friend

Thank you for being a friend
(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend
(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend
(I want to thank you)
Thank you for being a friend
Whoa, tell you about a friend
(Thank you right now, for being a friend)
Thank you for being a friend
(I wanna tell you right now, and tell you again)
Thank you for being a friend
(I wanna thank you, thank you, for being a friend)
Thank you for being a friend.
Lyrics by Andrew Gold

“Thank You For Being A Friend” was written in 1978 by Andrew Gold but was made popular as the theme song for the ’80’s sitcom “The Golden Girls” which starred four great comedic actresses Bea Arthur, Betty White, Rue McClanahan, and Estelle Getty.These four seasoned senior ladies were trailblazers in that they were non-traditional TV stars who came into homes weekly and offered humor and friendship of live and living in Miami, Florida from 1985-1992. “The Golden Girls” all these years later still has a following as the show runs regularly on several networks. The lyrics “Thank You For Being Friend” have a simple but strong message; friendship is to be honored and maintained even into our golden years.

Today take the time to tell someone “Thank You For Being A Friend”, it will make their heart smile to know that you care and value your friendship!
–YoTrip

R.I.P. Estelle Getty-“Sophia” (2008), Bea Arthur-“Dorothy” (2009), and Rue McClanahan-“Blanche” (2010)

“A.I.M. To Win In 2010”
Aspire, Inspire, Motivate

Yolanda Clay Triplett
“YoTrip”
http://www.yotrip.wordpress.com
http://www.yotrip-wordsandthoughts.blogspot.com

“Words the joyful noise of my
mouth, sweet sounds to my ears.The
results of a love affair between
pen and paper, words”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

WBTW.com

Myrtle Beach, Florence SC News, Weather, Sports

R. Eric Thomas

dynamic social impact storytelling

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

ericapooler The Cards of Life

A fine WordPress.com site

Perks of Mo;

A period tells you that is that. With a semicolon you get a pleasant little feeling of expectancy ; there is more to come; read on; it will get clearer.

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

Write the Dream, Work the Dream

Write the Vision. Make it Plain

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

