YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

Tuesday Thoughts by YoTrip for March 9, 2010-TheTEST (Vol.3, Iss.2)


The TEST




For a moment take a trip back to the days of your youth. The teacher stands before the class and announces it is time to commence the exercise of examination known as the standardized test. Your desk is clear except for the freshly sharpened yellow #2 Pencil (what happened to the #1 pencils? I think back and wonder). The teacher gives final instructions on what you should do upon receiving the test packet. Then the teacher moves up and down the aisles of the desks to give each student a packet. Once the packet reaches the desk of the last students and the teacher said these words, ” you can begin the test”, the reality of taking the test began. I can remember being so ready for the test to start, so I could get pass the anxious feelings I had carried for the last 24-hours. As the years went by and the test grew larger in size my anxiety seemed to grow right along with it. Once I started the test my feelings eased and I relaxed as I read through the questions and confidently bubbled in my answers. The paper and its content did not bother me, it was the waiting to start and forging into the unknown that had my stomach in knots.
Today many students across the country will be administered a standardized test given to examine their knowledge on subjects like reading comprehension, science or math.The students are expected to perform at their best individual testing levels and those results drill up from the class, grade level, school, and district. The standardized test and it level of importance in today’s educational system is open for great debate, I will not even attempt to focus on that issue today. I can remember that back in the early ’80’s in Georgia, I was in the 9th grade class statewide that would be see how the standardize test had a direct effect on our ability to receive a high school diploma or a certificate of attendance. In our 10th grade year, we were introduced to “the TEST” that would determine our future. All the test that I had taken in prior years seemed to pale in comparison to “the TEST” given in my 10th grade year. I thank the Lord that I passed the test the first time around and took that pressure off of me. For others, it took several attempts to pass “the TEST” and for others “the TEST” haunted them into the graduation process.
Daily we are faced with obstacles and challenges in our life that can be attuned to or called TEST. We are on timetables, we need to comprehend the problem and review the choices for answers and then make choose the correct decision. Our daily TEST take on a different view as adults but we still must determine to sit down, grab the #2 pencil, open the packet, and start the process. As you go through your busy day, take some time and say a prayer for the young people who are facing “the TEST”. I am going to carry my #2 pencil and use it in honor of the young testers in the classroom and for us daily testers living this thing called LIFE. –YoTrip


“A.I.M. To Win In 2010”
Aspire, Inspire, Motivate


Remember HAITI and CHILE– give to http://www.newmissions.org




Yolanda Clay Triplett
“YoTrip”
http://yotrip-wordsandthoughts.blogspot.com/




“Words the joyful noise of my
mouth, sweet sounds to my ears.The
results of a love affair between
pen and paper, words”

“A.I.M. To Win In 2010”
Aspire, Inspire, Motivate

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

WBTW.com

Myrtle Beach, Florence SC News, Weather, Sports

R. Eric Thomas

playwright. humorist. person on the internet.

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

ericapooler The Cards of Life

A fine WordPress.com site

Perks of Mo;

A period tells you that is that. With a semicolon you get a pleasant little feeling of expectancy ; there is more to come; read on; it will get clearer.

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

Write the Dream, Work the Dream

Write the Vision. Make it Plain

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

