YoTrip-Words and Thoughts

A place and space for me to express my thoughts

Tuesday Thoughts by YoTrip, January 19, 2010-FEAR Drives Us…(Vol.1, Iss.3)


FEAR DRIVES US…



FEAR can drive you to many destinations, you decide which route works best for getting you there.Most often we do not see FEAR from the positive aspects it offers. FEAR has a way of taking on its opponent by looking you square in the eye and saying retreat, you will never get pass me.FEAR only has as much power as we give it. We can choose to build FEAR up or to beat FEAR down. FEAR can come in and take up residency, like a child who exclaims they are never moving out.

FEAR we have all felt it in various forms: as a kid who broke something when we refused to heed parental warnings. When we were teenagers and we stayed out pass curfew, FEAR had us unaware of what punishment awaited us upon our return. In the college years, we partied a lot and studied a little and the professor gave us a test we were fearful of trying to pass. As adults, we go to a job interview excited with the prospect of a new opportunity and then walk into the room and nearly pass out when asked a simple question. The list of FEARS are endless and different for each of us. The difference is seen in our approach or our avoidance of the FEARS we encounter.Let me be clear, I so struggle with some FEARS, and do not know if I will ever get over them. I also know that time and our need to get pass FEAR is a great help and healer.


As a child I had a great FEAR of needles. During many a doctors visits to the base hospital at Fort Gordon, I could be heard screaming at our house in “the bottom” of East Augusta. My Dad would have to hold me down as I kicked and screamed in FEAR for my dear life. It appeared the older I got the intensity of my episodes at the sight of a needle were on display. The FEAR of needles was crippling me, hampering me and defeating me.


In 1999, while I was waiting for an appointment with my doctor. I was told the doctor had been delayed and would see me in an hour. I had been dropped off to that appointment and could not locate anyone to pick me up. I decided to walk out of the office building and grab lunch. On my way to the Nature’s Table was the Blood Bank and a sign that said “Give the gift of life, donate blood.” I thought to myself, I can do this and slowly entered the building. Upon entering the Blood bank I was greeted by the staff and gave them my information and explained my history and FEAR of needles. The receptionist took my paperwork and I waiting in FEAR to hear my name called. The young lady called my name and I was glued to my seat, once I composed myself to stand I made the journey that would help me face one of my greatest FEARS. The staff made me feel comfortable and explained everything to put me at ease. In the moment when the needle pricked my skin I thought with a mixture of tears and laughter of my childhood antics and my Dad holding me down. Here I was facing my FEAR and embracing the idea that FEAR only has a space and a place if we make room for it. My FEAR of needles had been defeated, and I celebrated with a great lunch and walked back to my doctor’s appointment proud of what I had accomplished.


Conquering FEAR is never easy but until you take FEAR on and seek to overcome it, defeat wins each and every time. So I ask, where is FEAR DRIVING YOU TODAY? WHAT STEPS WILL YOU TAKE TO DEFEAT THE FEARS THAT HOLD YOU BACK IN LIFE? 1/19/2010


Continue to pray for the people of HAITI


“A.I.M. To Win In 2010”
Aspire, Inspire, Motivate




Yolanda Clay Triplett
“YoTrip”

http://yotrip-wordsandthoughts.blogspot.com/




“Words the joyful noise of my
mouth, sweet sounds to my ears.The

results of a love affair between
pen and paper, words”

“A.I.M. To Win In 2010”
Aspire, Inspire, Motivate

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

R. Eric Thomas

dynamic social impact storytelling

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

ericapooler The Cards of Life

A fine WordPress.com site

Perks of Mo;

A period tells you that is that. With a semicolon you get a pleasant little feeling of expectancy ; there is more to come; read on; it will get clearer.

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

Write the Dream, Work the Dream

Write the Vision. Make it Plain

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography

Nikki Skies

I am a lover of perseverance. I am folklore. I am consistency and contradiction.

